MAGNETIC NORTH – EXHIBITION DIGITORIAL

Intro

Magnetic North An Exhibition imagining Canada in painting 1910–1940 COMING SOON!

Lawren Harris, Mount Lefroy, 1930

Magnificent outdoor adventures, remote cabins in the woods and the magic of the Northern Lights against white glaciers are just a few of the romantic notions globally associated with “Canada”. We suddenly find ourselves longing for an idyllic life as a lone adventurer of the kind we see in films and literature.

These romantic ideas are by no means an invention of our time: In the early 20th century Canadian artists travelled from the cities out into nature. They were on the hunt for a new pictorial language to shape the cultural identity for a still burgeoning nation, which had to gain self-governance in 1867 with the confederation of four provinces. In visual terms, these paintings and sketches embody the dream of an untouched world. They depict the idyll of an awesome landscape and at the time hovered beyond the reality of modern city life and the expanding industrial utilization of nature. Not least, this landscape was home to the Indigenous population.

Lawren Harris, Lake and Mountains, 1928

Moder­nism as na­tional art: the Group of Seven

In May 1920, the artists and friends Lawren Harris, J.E.H. MacDonald, A.Y. Jackson, Frank Johnston, Arthur Lismer, Franklin Carmichael and A.J. Casson officially founded the “Group of Seven” association. They had already shared several excursions for some years – setting out to explore the countryside to the north of Ontario, which they had captured in atmospheric paintings. The Group of Seven, along with other artists from their circles such as Emily Carr, Tom Thomson and Mary E. Wrinch, shared not only a preference for landscape painting but also the goal of establishing a uniquely Canadian tradition in painting. Unlike the European avant-garde, they thus wanted to make an original contribution to Modernism, which was developing internationally. Alongside their artistic ideas, they shared the desire to express a sense of belonging to the still far from independent nation of Canada and ideally to invoke it in the observer. Art was to be a tool for dissemination, formation and consolidation.

"The thought of today cannot be expressed by the language of yesterday."

Group of Seven, 1922
Load complete Digitorial

DIGITORIAL ZUR AUSSTELLUNG

Intro

Magnetic North Eine Ausstellung über den Mythos Kanada in der Malerei 1910–1940 COMING SOON!

Lawren Harris, Mount Lefroy, 1930

Fantastische Outdoor-Abenteuer, einsame Holzhütten im Wald oder magische Nordlichter vor weißen Gletschern – allein das Wort „Kanada“ weckt in uns viele romantische Assoziationen. Plötzlich sehnen wir uns nach einem idyllischen Leben als Aussteiger, wie es Filme und Literatur so oft zeigen.

Diese romantisierten Ideen sind keine Erfindung unserer Zeit: Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts reisten kanadische Künstlerinnen und Künstler aus den Städten in die Natur. Sie waren auf der Suche nach einer neuen malerischen Sprache für die kulturelle Identität der damals noch jungen Nation, die seit 1867 mit dem Zusammenschluss der Provinzen den Prozess der Unabhängigkeit eingeleitet hatte. Visuell verkörpern diese Gemälde und Skizzen den Traum von einer unberührten Welt. Sie zeichnen das Idyll einer überwältigenden Landschaft und bewegen sich damit jenseits der Realität des modernen Stadtlebens oder der expandierenden industriellen Nutzung der Natur. Nicht zuletzt war diese Landschaft auch die Heimat der Indigenen Bevölkerung.

Lawren Harris, Lake and Mountains, 1928

Moder­ne als National­kunst: die Group of Seven

Im Mai 1920 gründeten die befreundeten Künstler Lawren Harris, J. E. H. MacDonald, A. Y. Jackson, Frank Johnston, Arthur Lismer, Franklin Carmichael und A. J. Casson offiziell die Vereinigung Group of Seven. Bereits mehrere Jahre in Folge hatten sie auf gemeinsamen Ausflügen die Landschaft nördlich von Ontario erkundet und in stimmungsvollen Gemälden festgehalten. Die Group of Seven, aber auch weitere Künstlerinnen und Künstler aus ihrem Umkreis, wie Emily Carr, Tom Thomson oder Mary E. Wrinch, vereinte neben der Vorliebe für die Landschaftsmalerei das Ziel, eine eigenständige kanadische Maltradition zu etablieren. In Abgrenzung zur europäischen Avantgarde wollten sie damit einen originären Beitrag zu der sich international entwickelnden Moderne leisten. Neben ihren künstlerischen Ideen teilten sie den Wunsch, durch ihre Gemälde eine Zugehörigkeit zu der noch nicht lange unabhängigen Nation Kanada zum Ausdruck zu bringen und idealerweise auch im Betrachter zu erzeugen. Dieses Nationalgefühl sollte durch Kunst verbreitet, geformt und gefestigt werden.

„Das Denken von heute lässt sich nicht in die Sprache von gestern gießen“

Group of Seven, 1922
Digitorial komplett laden