EXHIBITION DIGITORIAL: ART FOR NO ONE. 1933-1945

Intro

ART FOR NO ONE
1933–1945
4 MARCH – 6 JUNE 2022

Jeanne Mammen, Dying Warrior (Young Soldier in the Front Fire), ca. 1943

Election year 1932. In April, the National Socialist German Workers’ Party (NSDAP) obtains a majority in the state parliament in the Free State of Anhalt with more than forty percent of the ballots cast. The first extensive solo exhibition of the artist Hannah Höch in Germany is planned to open in May at the Bauhaus School of Architecture, Design and Art in Dessau, the state capital at the time. Just before the opening, the newly elected political leadership prohibits the exhibition project from taking place. The financial subsidies are withdrawn and the Bauhaus, whose artistic orientation does not fit within the National Socialist ideology, is dissolved a few months later.

With the ascendency of the National Socialists begins a time of violence and terror, despair and hopelessness—for those who do not join in the, at first, majority support for National Socialist regime. Public life, politics, media, and the fine arts are subjected to an ideology in line with the National Socialist regime. Many artists living in Germany flee into exile, concerned for their own lives, and in order to retain the freedom to choose how they express themselves artistically. Others do not leave Germany and also create very expressive works out of the public eye and under the radar of the National Socialists. The artists address the fears and the misery of the time, their isolation, and the impending threat of war, as well as its grim consequences. Besides reactions to day-to-day political events, their works show an intensive examination of experimental photography, photomontage, and current tendencies of abstract painting.

WHAT IS A DICTATORSHIP?

The term “dictatorship” denotes the unrestricted rule of a person, group, or party in a country. The National Socialist regime in Germany between 1933 and 1945 was a totalitarian dictatorship. In totalitarian dictatorships, all political, social, and government questions are subordinated unconditionally to a programmatic ideology. Diversity in public life, freedom of the press and mass media, and the free development of the arts and oppositional movements were eliminated in favor of the absoluteness of the dictator. The aim was to completely control the society and reshape it according to the official worldview. Intimidation, persecution, and the use of terrorist measures assisted in suppressing the individual and to already stopping any nascent expressions of resistance.

Load complete Digitorial

Please rotate device.

The Digitorial is optimised for portrait mode.

DIGITORIAL ZUR AUSSTELLUNG – KUNST FÜR KEINEN. 1933-1945

Intro

KUNST FÜR KEINEN
1933–1945
4. März – 6. Juni 2022

Jeanne Mammen, Sterbender Krieger (Junger Soldat im Frontfeuer), um 1943, Detail

Wahljahr 1932: Im April erlangt die Nationalsozialistische Deutsche Arbeiterpartei (NSDAP) im Freistaat Anhalt mit mehr als 40 Prozent der abgegebenen Wählerstimmen die Mehrheit im Landtag. Für den darauffolgenden Monat Mai ist in der damaligen Landeshauptstadt Dessau im Bauhaus – Schule für Architektur, Design und Kunst – die erste große deutsche Einzelausstellung der Künstlerin Hannah Höch geplant. Die Eröffnung steht unmittelbar bevor, als die neu gewählte politische Führung das Ausstellungsvorhaben verhindert. Der finanzielle Zuschuss wird gestrichen und das Bauhaus, dessen künstlerische Ausrichtung nicht der NS-Ideologie entspricht, wenige Monate später aufgelöst.

Mit dem Aufstieg der Nationalsozialisten beginnt eine Zeit von Gewalt und Terror, Verzweiflung und Hoffnungslosigkeit – für all jene, die sich dem anfangs mehrheitlichen Zuspruch für die NS-Herrschaft nicht anschließen. Das öffentliche Leben, Politik, Medien und bildende Künste werden einer Ideologie im Sinne des nationalsozialistischen Regimes unterworfen. Viele in Deutschland beheimatete Künstlerinnen und Künstler fliehen ins Exil, in Sorge um das eigene Leben und um sich die Freiheit zu bewahren, ihren künstlerischen Ausdruck selbst zu bestimmen. Andere bleiben in Deutschland und schaffen fern der Öffentlichkeit auch unter dem Radar der Nationalsozialisten ausdrucksstarke Werke. Sie thematisieren die Ängste und das Elend der Zeit, ihre Einsamkeit und die drohende Gefahr des Krieges wie auch dessen grausame Folgen. Neben Reaktionen auf tagespolitische Ereignisse zeigen ihre Arbeiten die intensive Auseinandersetzung mit experimenteller Fotografie, Fotomontage und den aktuellen Tendenzen abstrakter Malerei.

WAS IST DIKTATUR?

Der Begriff „Diktatur“ bezeichnet die unbeschränkte Herrschaft einer Person, Gruppierung oder Partei in einem Staat. Die nationalsozialistische Herrschaft in Deutschland zwischen 1933 und 1945 war eine totalitäre Diktatur. In totalitären Diktaturen sind alle politischen, gesellschaftlichen und staatlichen Fragen uneingeschränkt einer programmatischen Ideologie untergeordnet. Die Vielfalt im öffentlichen Leben, Freiheit von Presse und Massenmedien sowie die freie Entfaltung der Künste und oppositioneller Bewegungen werden zugunsten der Absolutheit des Diktators verhindert. Ziel ist es, die Gesellschaft vollständig zu kontrollieren und gemäß der offiziellen Weltanschauung umzuformen. Einschüchterung, Verfolgung und der Einsatz terroristischer Maßnahmen dienen dazu, das Individuum zu unterdrücken und jegliche Äußerungen des Widerstandes bereits im Keim zu ersticken.

Digitorial komplett laden

Gerät bitte drehen.

Das Digitorial ist für Hochformat optimiert.